Yuletide Bride – Interview with Gerri Brousseau

Season of MagicGerri dreamI’m very excited to welcome back multi-published  historical romance writer Gerri Brousseau and author of the recently released holiday novella; The Yuletide Bride-Sesaon of Magic Anthology.

First a few facts about our author:

Geri was born in Connecticut where she currently lives with pugs; Mimi and her cats Louise (Weasley) and Harry. If you haven’t picked up on it, Gerri is a huge JK Rowling fan.  In addition to writing, Gerri loves to cook, sketch and paint and spend as much time as possible with her granddaugher.

Tell us Scribbler’s a little about Yuletide Bride and what inspired this story?

Hi Scribblers and thank you, Bobbi for inviting me today. I wondered what if a young playboy was forced to give up his ways and find a wife, and what if the deadline was the holiday? Then I wondered, what would be the incentive? Could his fortune be threatened, because money is always a good incentive . . . right?

Have you ever collaborated on an anthology before?

 No, never. When I was first approached to join in the group of wonderful authors who put together this fun holiday box set of short stories and novellas, I was excited.

Is the writing process different writing a shorter novella vs a full length novel?

Yes, a lot. In this short story you don’t have the space or word count to get into sub-story or into the lives and drama of secondary characters as much. A novella is much shorter so you have to keep on point.

Is there a playlist you’d recommend for reading Yultetide Bride?

This time of year there are many radio stations that play holiday music 24 x 7 through Christmas. In fact, I’m listening to one now. I like mellow holiday instrumentals so I can concentrate on the story.

Your characters are so well developed, do you create a deep backstory for your lead hero and heroine when you are writing a novella or do the characters let you know who they are and what they want to do as your write?

I don’t over think it. They come to me and somehow, I just know what they are like. For example, despite the fact that my hero is a playboy type, he’s not a cad and would never be manipulative . . . unlike The Lady Roxanne.

If given the opportunity to influence the story line, would your hero; Stuart make any changes? Would your heroine Brianna?

I think they already have. My writing process is that I sort of hear the characters and allow them to tell me the story. Some may say it’s weird, but it’s how I write.

I see from your other novels like; A Pirates Ransom and To Kill A Monarch, you like delving into the past; do your stories require a lot of research?

Yes, I like to do the research. Although sometimes I use poetic license and bring in things a bit ahead of time. I find certain time periods to hold a romantic quality even if there is also a quality of danger, such as with Pirates and an intrigue such as in Monarch. All my stories are researched, and even though I may not stick to all the facts, it is fiction after all.

Have you ever made any of the food from this time period?

 Yes, actually in A Pirate’s Ransom, while aboard Captain Drake’s ship, Lady Catherine makes this dish called Callaloo which is an island dish dating back to the day. I did make it. I also make mulled wine but draw the line at grinding corn as they would have done in According to Legend.

Is there a secondary character from Yuletide Brides that you feel deserves his or her own story?

There are some possibilities. I’m thinking about causing some havoc into the live of Lord Robert as of this interview.

What influences you the most when it comes to naming your characters?

Again, it’s weird. Their names seem to just pop into my head. They are telling me their story and their names. Once in a while I struggle with a name. For example I don’t pen the first name of The Dowager Duchess until perhaps the middle of the book. At that point I had developed the character’s personality and simply gave her a name I thought would fit her.

Can we have an excerpt from Yuletide Bride?

I would be happy to. In this scene, Stuart has taken Lady Brianna and her sister, Lady Claire to town. They are headed into a shop because Lady Claire is interested in something when by chance they meet Lady Roxanne, Stuart’s former fling.

“It’s a pleasure to make your acquaintance, Lady Roxanne,” Claire said. Brianna nodded but remained silent.

“Yes, indeed,” Roxanne said but drew her attention back to Stuart. Now standing before him, she tugged on the front of his cloak. “Stuart, I’ve missed you. Have you been avoiding me?”

Before he could reply she turned to Brianna and said, “He’s truly a cad, quite charming but a cad none the less. Trust me, I should know. We have been seeing each other for quite some time. Isn’t that right Stuart?”

Brianna lowered her gaze and a smile curled Roxanne’s lips.

“Lady Roxanne, it has been a pleasure to see you but I’m afraid we must be on our way. My companions grow cold standing out here in the weather,” he said. He yanked the door open then facing the Ladies FitzGerald he said, “Ladies?”

Claire and Brianna moved past Roxanne and into the Milliner’s shop. Roxanne’s stare followed them.

“You cannot dismiss me so simply, Stuart,” she said watching the shop door close. “This is not over.”

What do you enjoy most about writing?

I enjoy producing a story the readers enjoy. I want them to be wrapped up in the story and for the time they are reading it, be part of the lives of my characters.

What do you enjoy the least about writing?

Honestly, I love everything about writing. Writing brings me joy. What doesn’t being me joy is marketing. I’m no expert, but these days even those who write for the huge publishers have to do the lion’s share of their own marketing so I’m learning.

What is the writing process like for you? If you were to describe your process in one word, what would it be?

 Flow. If the words don’t flow, then it’s not a process for me.

Do you have a critique partner/belong to a critique group?

I don’t belong to a critique group, but I have a few beta readers. Still sometimes even though 4 or 5 sets of eyes have read a story, errors get overlooked. Can’t be helped. We’re only human.

If money were not object, where would you most like to live?

Right now, my home is my world. If money were no object, perhaps the world would be my home.

What write has most influenced your work?

When I first read, “The Flame and The Flower” I was hooked. I think that first romance planted a seed in me to write romance and after many, many years of reading romance and writing since I was young, I finally decided to give it a try.

What are you currently reading?

When I’m writing, I don’t read. When I’m not, that’s when I read. I just finished Dragonfly in Amber. Since watching Outlander, I hope to read them all.

What are the best and worst pieces of writing advice you have ever heard?

I think advice given depends on the person giving it. I try to take it all with a grain of salt. The best thing I could say is to tell someone who wanted to write to do it. Write and write every day. Don’t give up.

What books or other projects are coming up for you?

I have a few projects on the burners right now. I’ve been working on another short story involving the characters from The Yuletide Bride. I’m also working on a contemporary romance about a disabled veteran. Also thinking of trying my hand at Young Adult but that’s been pushed so far to the back burner right now that I can’t even think about it.

Thanks again Bobbi for inviting me here today to share with your readers. I enjoyed it and wish each of them a blessed holiday season.

To purchase your own copy of A Yuletide Bride, go to:

http://www.amazon.com/Season-Magic-Holiday-Box-Set-ebook/dp/B00OZ136A6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1417394215&sr=8-1&keywords=Season+of+Magic

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/season-of-magic-marian-lanouette/1120721249?ean=2940150442801

To keep up with Gerri: 

Website:  http://www.GerriBrousseau.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/gerri.brousseau.5

Soulmate Authors Group:  http://smpauthors.wordpress.com

This entry was posted in Author Inerviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yuletide Bride – Interview with Gerri Brousseau

  1. Thanks again for inviting me here today, Bobbi. It was fun doing the interview and as always, a pleasure to be here at Scribblers.

Leave a Reply

