Hardwired – Interview with Meredith Wild

Hardwired book coverMeredith PhotoI’m thrilled to welcome USA Today bestselling writer, Meredith Wild, author of the recently released sizzling erotic romance Hardwired.

A bit of background on our author:

USA Today bestselling author, Meredith Wild, picked up her first romance novel at the tender age of twelve, and shortly after put pen to word processor and made her first attempt at writing a love story inspired by those she so enjoyed reading well past her bedtime.

Her dream of writing took a back seat to college, parenthood and eventually entrepreneurship, which led her into the fast-paced and male-dominated high tech industry.  With enough life experience for a few lifetimes, she now devotes her hours to writing contemporary adult romance with a hint of kink.

When she isn’t writing or mothering, Meredith can be found sunbathing with an adult beverage.

Thank you for joining us at Scribbler’s today Meredith!

What would you most like your readers to know about you that they would not read in your official bio?

I’m a thirty-something mother of three. I’ve spent the past decade running various Internet businesses. I refer to these as my “day job.” I hold a bachelor’s in English from a quintessential New England college, and I am horrified daily by my inability to find my own typos. My days consist of begging to sleep in, then launching myself into a flurry of kid-related obligations and day job work. My nights consist of spending time with my real life hero and figuring out how to create more hours in the day to write!

I prefer beaches to mountains, chocolate to vanilla, and Internet to TV. That said, Trueblood, Shameless, and Game of Thrones give my life purpose. In my spare time, of which I have none, I like to do absolutely nothing, preferably on a pool raft with a refreshing adult beverage in hand.

Tell us Scribbler’s a bit about what inspired this story?

HARDWIRED was inspired by my experiences working in tech as a woman and, as a fan of romance, the desire to tackle the topic of power play in and out of the bedroom between two intelligent and strong-willed characters. More than anything, I was really focused on writing a female lead who could experience a degree of surrender in a sexual relationship without giving up control over her life.

As a writer of Erotic Romance, do you feel the story line is as important as the sex scenes?

The sex is definitely critical in moving the story forward and demonstrating the depth of the characters’ relationship, but the story line is definitely equally important to building a believable, relatable story.

What three ingredients do you consider an absolute necessity to writing a hot sex scene?

Dialogue, as difficult and awkward as that may be to write. A willingness to push your own and your characters’ boundaries to create a memorable experience. Emotion, because even scenes that are raw and wild should be emotionally intense in some way in order to move the story and the relationship forward.

Do you ever base your characters on people you know?

There are bits and pieces of my soul in the heroes, the heroines and even the bad guys of my stories. That said, at the end of the day my characters are purely fictional, imbued with physical or personality traits that might be inspired by any number of people or experiences that have come into my life. Rarely is a character a representation of a single person.

What comes first for you; character or story?

Definitely the story. I need more time to get to know my characters.

Who are your favorite characters amongst both those you’ve written, and by other authors?

Erica’s long lost father, Daniel Fitzgerald, has been an intriguing character to write in the series. He does the right thing for the wrong reasons, and I enjoy exploring the contradicting empathy and hatred that my characters feel toward him.

Is there a secondary character in Hardwired that you feel deserves his/her own story?

Alli and Heath’s story carries on through the series, but I think it would be fun to have a more intimate window into their world at some point.

If you could cast anyone to play the roles of Erica Hathaway and Blake Landon who would you pick?

Blake Lively and Tim Riggins.

Can we have an excerpt from Hardwired?

“You never told me about the roommate.”

His voice was low and serious enough to set my heart beating a mile a minute. Was he angry? I couldn’t really tell, but I felt like a child about to go to time-out.

Inviting Sid to be my roommate had been a rash decision, granted. I knew how he lived, typically in a pile of pop tart wrapper rubble, and it worried me a bit. But in truth, I wasn’t ready to live solo anyway, and I could use his presence at the apartment to deter Blake’s advances, though it wasn’t working at present.

I swallowed hard before replying. “You haven’t exactly been straightforward with me either, Blake. I don’t know what you expect.”

“It’s a complication. I suppose we’ll have to work around it.”

“Oh?”

“We’ll just be spending a lot more time upstairs is all.”

He stepped between my legs and lifted my knee over his thigh with a single fluid motion. My breath rushed out of me, and I gripped the edge of the counter as he pinned me to it. He pressed a hot kiss on my neck before taking my earlobe between his teeth.

I gasped at the sensation and held on tight and squeezed my eyes shut, reminding myself of every good reason not to give in to him. There was a line with Blake. On one side of it, I wanted him desperately, but somehow I could muster the willpower to refuse him. We were on the other side of that line, where I was completely at his mercy, helpless against his determination to have me.

His hands crept under my shirt and stroked the bare skin of my back, the contact sending me into orbit. My nipples hardened and brushed against his chest as I arched into him.

“I need you, Erica. Tonight.” He pressed the evidence of his desire into me.

His mouth was on mine before I could say no, obliterating any remote ideas about putting him off again. He kissed me hard and deep, sucking and licking with an urgency I fully met. My hands finally released and I raked my fingers through his hair, urging him closer. He pulled back to catch his breath, and I gripped him tighter, willing him back to me.

There we were, Blake’s hands on their way up my skirt, each of us on fire for the other, when Sid shuffled out of his bedroom and stopped short in the living room.

I froze, petrified by being caught in the act. With Sid entirely out of his view, Blake slowly retreated. He gave me a little smirk, letting me know our little show had gone according to his plan.

Do you consider yourself to be a one-genre writer or do you feel you will cross over to others?

Right now I’m exclusively working in the erotic romance genre. I do plan to venture out of it at some point. I’m not sure when though, because I am having an awful lot of fun writing angsty smut at the moment.

Do you have a particular daily writing schedule you stick to?

Unfortunately, no. I have a very erratic schedule, so I write when I can. I try to write a little something every day, but typically I’m more likely to do pull an all nighter or write nothing at all. I haven’t figured out how to be consistent yet.

What would be the one piece of advice you’d give to an aspiring writer?

If writing is a dream you have, fight for it. Let the laundry pile up. Give your kids candy for breakfast if it gives you an hour to write. Carve out the time for yourself, because no one else will. If I had known what serious writing would do for me, I would have started fighting for it a lot sooner than I did. I think the first step to success is believing that you can do it, and that you deserve the space and time to do it. So make time, even if you aren’t convinced you deserve it. Get the story out, at all costs! Tell the demons to STFU and just write.

A few fun questions;

Lace or silk?

Lace.

Boxers or briefs or commando?

Boxer briefs.

Go to snack when writing?

Macadamia nuts.

What can you tell us about your next project?

I’ve just completed ON MY KNEES, the first in a new series. Next up I’ll be penning the third installment in the Hacker Series, HARDLINE, which I’m hoping will be available sometime this summer.

To Keep up with Meredith go to :

www.meredithwild.com

www.facebook.com/meredithwild

To purchasse your own copy of Hardwired or other stories in the Hacker series go to:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18244799-hardwired

http://www.amazon.com/Hardwired-The-Series-ebook/dp/B00EY2UO9C/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1378212180&sr=1-2

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hardwired-Hacker-Series-Meredith-Wild-ebook/dp/B00EY2UO9C/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1390848958&sr=8-2

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hardwired-meredith-wild/1116841981?ean=2940148384823

https://itunes.apple.com/book/hardwired/id728096799?mt=11&ign-mpt=uo%3D4

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/hardwired/id728096799?mt=11&uo=4

http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/hardwired-4

https://play.google.com/store/books/details?id=9V0MAQAAQBAJ

This entry was posted in Author Inerviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

