Gratitude, Query and a bit about Keeping on Keeping on Writing by Gerri Brousseau

When Bobbi asked me to write the article for Scribblers for the November blog, I was thrilled, but then I wondered what to write about. After some thought it occurred to me that in the US November is typically associated with Thanksgiving, so I thought I would write about being thankful.

Being a writer of historical fiction and romance, I’m quite use to doing research. I wanted to see what my old friend Wikipedia had to say about Thanksgiving. I had already known that it was declared a national holiday by the greatest president ever, Abe Lincoln, in 1863, but what I discovered was that the original Thanksgiving feast lasted for 3-days! I’m all for that. My first thought was only in the US would we have a holiday completely devoted to eating, but Thanksgiving is celebrated in other countries as well.

What does this have to do with writing? Absolutely nothing, other than my own personal reflection of the past year and what I am thankful for. Mostly; my improving health. As some of you know, I have vertigo and although it’s a nasty beast that rears its ugly head every now and again, right now it’s somewhat improved. For that, I’m extremely thankful.

My family ranks high on my list. I have a beautiful grand-daughter who is the love of my life. I live for every moment spent with her.

I’m thankful that I have a job in this difficult economy. As much as I hate the DDJ (dreaded day job), it keeps a roof over my head, food on my table, and the lights on.

I’m also extremely thankful that over this past year, I have had three books published. Some may say that’s amazing, but I sort of fell into that having happened. Allow me to explain. I wrote a book entitled, According to Legend, and rather than rushing to query I set it aside and wrote a second book. What I did when I finished the second book was unusual. I set it aside and wrote A Pirate’s Ransom. I decided then to query the three of them.  Remember, you can query too early but never too late. Make sure you are ready and more importantly, that your work is ready. When I finally sent mine out, I got lucky when my publisher decided to offer me a contract for A Pirate’s Ransom and According to Legend. What I did next was what all writers should do, I wrote my next book, To Kill a Monarch. I was amazed that in the span of one year, all three were published. All available on Nook and Kindle with A Pirate’s Ransom in print and According to Legend to be in print hopefully by the end of the year.

This brings me to you, dear readers. I’m thankful for my friends, family and especially for my readers. Without reader fans, I would not have the joy of telling stories for you. I appreciate each and every one of you.

I’m especially thankful to Bobbi for all she does for Scribblers. She’s a friend I have come to rely on. She not only works her DDJ, but she also promotes our writing and assists us with daily prompts to help us when we hit a wall.

This brings me to what this article is supposed to be about, writing tips. Here are a few: The biggest of all is to tell you to keep writing. Write every day and write what you love. Forget about trends and write from your heart. One thing that I do when I finish writing a novel, and this might sound a little crazy to you, is that I read the book aloud. I sit with my pugs, or with a friend if I’m lucky, and starting on page one, I read the book. Out Loud. You would be surprised at how many errors you will hear when you do this. It’s a great editing tool. And lastly, as I already mentioned, keep writing because you are only as good as your next book.

So you see, I have much to be thankful for. And now, I’m off to write my next novel.

To keep up with Gerri:

www.gerribrousseau.com

For Gerri’s Books:

http://www.amazon.com/A-Pirates-Ransom-Gerri-Brousseau-ebook/dp/B0091PRUTO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1383826786&sr=8-1&keywords=Gerri+Brousseau

http://www.amazon.com/To-Kill-Monarch-Gerri-Brousseau-ebook/dp/B00EOC3CGY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1383826786&sr=8-2&keywords=Gerri+Brousseau

http://www.amazon.com/According-Legend-Gerri-Brousseau-ebook/dp/B00BP7HL1S/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1383826786&sr=8-3&keywords=Gerri+Brousseau

 

This entry was posted in Writer's Writing Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gratitude, Query and a bit about Keeping on Keeping on Writing by Gerri Brousseau

  1. Thank you so much, Bobbi, for inviting me to share with your readers. I’m excited to meet them and hope they will leave comments and ask me questions.

Leave a Reply

