Jake Snow-Interview with Elodie Parkes

Jake SnowElodie PhotoFirst a Few facts about our Author.

Elodie Parkes is a British author writing romance, erotic, contemporary, and often with a twist of mystery, paranormal or suspense. Her books are always steamy, cool stories and hot love scenes.

Elodie lives in Canterbury with her two dogs. She works in an antique shop by day and writes at night, loving the cloak of silent, darkness that descends on the rural countryside around her home.

Elodie writes for, Hot Ink PressMoon Rose PublishingEternal Press, and Evernight

She has also released titles as an individual indie author.

Thank you for joining us at Scribbler’s today Elodie!

What would you most like your readers to know about you that they would not read in your official bio?

I’m a romantic. I’m compassionate. I love nature and animals. It makes me cry to see cruelty. I write stories that have always been sparked by something in real life.

Tell us Scribblers a bit about The Jake Snow and what inspired this story?

‘Jake Snow’ is the story of Bethany Snow’s brother. Bethany is the leading female character in my erotic romance, ‘The Last Time’, and people who read the book early in its release always wanted to know more about Jake. I had his story in my head and so here it is.

It’s two years since his sister got married and Jake has been working cases alone. He’s tired and hoping to find love too when we meet him in this book.The Last Time’ takes place on a movie location and that’s where Jake and Bethany, who are private investigators, are sent by their agency to deal with hate mail being sent to a movie star there.

This time the story takes place in the fashion world and Jake gets caught up in the strange happenings in an atelier.

The idea for the movie location book came to me when I was invited to watch a shoot by an indie filmmaker. The idea for the high fashion setting for this book was seeded about the same time when I went to watch a fashion show with friends. I was on holiday overseas, with them. We had attended a dance theatre, and then later in the week a fashion show. I knew immediately that I would write a story about the world of fashion. The idea of placing Jake Snow in this world came after I had written, The Last Time.

Do you use a pen name/pseudo name?  If so, why?  If not, why did you decide to write under your own name?

No my name is Elodie Parkes. It just didn’t occur to me to write under a pen name.

What’s the first thing you know for certain about a new story concept? Plot? Character? Something else?

Suddenly an idea will seed with the characters and the plot unfolds at the same time. I always know the story. Sometimes I evolve parts of the plot more than I originally think I will.

Do you develop a deep backstory for your characters before sitting down to write or do you just have a general idea of who they are?

No, I just know them right away. The characters will sometimes take over the plot.

What three ingredients do you consider an absolute necessity to writing a hot sex scene?

The characters love each other. They are developing a deep relationship. There will be a happy ending where they are together.

As a writer of erotic romance, do you feel the story line is as important as the sex scenes?

I feel it’s more important. My stories are complex and will always have a twist in the tale. The sex scenes are love scenes that show just how much passion exists between the characters even if they haven’t acknowledged their love yet it will show how much they love each other.

Do you ever base your characters on people you know?

Not know, but have glimpsed.

My book ‘Millie Reinvented’ comes from direct contact with a customer at work.

I was talking to a young woman who was in the antiques shop where I work and she was buying a little sculpture of two lovers kissing. She said she had to have it because it was so nice to look at. Her husband didn’t even kiss her anymore. She told me more too and it’s a sad story. I wrapped the item, and stored the thoughts about her until the story burst out onto my laptop. It draws on many stories I’ve heard about love gone wrong, and lonely people.

Jake is a composite from glimpses of men, as usual, that’s how my male characters are usually formed. Sometimes just how a man looks as I pass him on the street will produce a character. Sometimes it will be seeing someone work.

Marco, the fashion show director in the book ‘Jake Snow’ comes from seeing behind the scenes of the fashion show I attended.

Jake Snow comes from one of the male models in the show, (just the way he seemed to be apart from the other models) and I suddenly thought maybe he’s there by mistake.

I was so lucky to find the graphics for Jake’s book cover, banner, and book trailer on a stock site because there was the exact picture from one of my book scenes. (It will be a spoiler if I say more, but those who read the book will know.)

Jake’s character was set as a really lovely guy who was also smart and professional in the book about his sister Bethany, so there was lots about him in my mind anyway.

What is your process for coming up with character names?

Ah, they tell me.

Can we have an excerpt from the Jake Snow?

Read an excerpt G 13+ rated (the book is 18+)

It was seven o’clock as he lay on the bed. He closed his eyes, and pictured Pixie’s lovely face and her mouth. He let himself think about kissing her. He fell asleep promising himself that he would ask her out.

Jake’s cell phone woke him up. He clawed at it only managing to toss it to the floor instead of pick it up to answer. Fuck it.

He scrambled to the side of the bed and hung over there to reach the phone. It was his sister Bethany calling. She greeted him and he perked up, shuffling to sit up in the bed.

“Hi Bethany, it’s good to hear from you. What’s happening?”

“Jake, I miss you, and every time I hear your voice I think about coming back to work. How is work? Brandt tells me you’ve applied for holidays. That’s not like you Jake, you never take holidays.” Jake could hear a hint of concern in her voice and smiled. He missed her too.

“Work is a bit of a drag to be honest. Partly my own fault though because when Brandt asked me to team up with another detective for some high profile cases, I didn’t want to, so the jobs I’ve been doing lately have been, ‘less interesting,’ I guess you could say.”

“I’d like to see you. Seth would too. Come over here, have some time with us. It’s a beautiful place.”

Jake smiled again. “I’d like to Bethany, I just have a job to finish…it’s a weird one. There’s a young woman involved too…I like her Bethany…she’s lovely.”

“Have you asked her out or let her know you like her? I bet you haven’t. I’d like you to have someone. I can’t tell you how great it is to be loved.”

Jake ran his hand through his hair. “I haven’t said anything to her because it’s early days I only just met her and it’s a bit complicated. We don’t all fall on the client and seduce them the night we meet.” He laughed then because that was close enough to what had happened between his sister and her husband. “Then again it worked out well for you…”

COPYRIGHT ELODIE PARKES 2013

Is there any genre you dislike reading?

I give most things a try, but I don’t read horror.

What’s the funniest thing anyone has ever said to you about your writing? Or the oddest?

It wasn’t said directly to me, but the oddest thing has been a review saying my books should come with a warming label that I’m British.

What are you most proud of about your writing?

I try not to be proud. There’s always a way to be better. There’s always something more to learn. I do fall in love with my characters though and the story readers get is always one I actually love and want out there.

We are all different. Sometimes we don’t like things. A story is art and an artist puts their work out there. You roll with the punches and appreciate the love.

If you could cast anyone to play the roles of the main characters in this story, whom would you pick?

I have no idea. I think often translating a story into a movie or play changes things and not always for the better. When we read a book, we imagine the character and it’s so personal when someone chooses an actual person to replace that image it’s not always okay.

What is the writing process like for you?  If you were to describe your process in one word, what would it be?

Magic.

What does your writing space look like?

I have two desks butted against each other, two computers, two iPads, portable hard drives scattered about, flash disks, several different dictionaries on a shelf nearby. A desk lamp on there. It’s by a window that looks out on farmland. There are notepads and a pencil. Most of my work is done on computer but I occasionally jot something down, usually a ‘to do’.

What writer has most influenced your own work?

I can honestly say no one. I read heaps. I can’t even begin to count how many books I might have read. Reading was my sanctuary when I was growing up and then I got the taste for reference texts in college. My own writing is inspired by people, places, and emotions. Sometimes the weirdest thing will set a story going for me.

I have a ‘Romance on the Go’ releasing from Evernight Publishing October 31, titled, ‘Swoop on Love’. It was inspired by an old Inn sign on a village green I passed. ‘The Horoscope Writer’ was inspired by a workshop to let sign on a country lane. The whole story and the characters will come pouring into my head from just that one thing. As for style. I just write.

What are you currently reading?

Christine Feehan, ‘Dark Lycan’ and the McGraw Hill Desk reference for Editors, Writers, and Proofreaders.

What sound or noise do you love?

Water. A river, rushing or rippling. The ocean, waves crashing or just that thunk as a wave draws away from the beach.

What sound or noise do you hate?

Strident advertising voices.

Where is the place you absolutely must visit before you die?

Borobudur

What is your favorite curse word?

Fuck

What are the best and worst pieces of writing advice you’ve ever heard?

Best: keep writing no matter what

I can’t think of a worst. Although there’s lots of stuff about promotion that is pop psychology.

What books or other projects do you have coming up in the future?

‘Night of the Horse’, erotic paranormal romance from Evernight Publishing, slated to release October 17

‘Swoop on Love’, erotic paranormal romance from Evernight Publishing, slated to release October 31

‘A Little Mysterious’, erotic paranormal romance from Evernight Publishing, slated to release November.

I’m also writing a romance at the moment, but I’ve only just started it.

Find Elodie online:

http://elodieparkes.blogspot.co.uk

http://melodyelodie.tumblr.com

https://www.facebook.com/ElodieParkes

https://twitter.com/ElodieParkes

To purchase your own copy of Jake Snow or other wonderful Elodie Parkes book go to:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FAYMIME

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Jake-Snow-ebook/dp/B00FAYMIME

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/elodie-parkes

This entry was posted in Author Inerviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jake Snow-Interview with Elodie Parkes

  1. Hi Roberta,
    Thank you for inviting me to the blog today , it was great to talk with you. Lovely Post 🙂

Leave a Reply

