Straight From The Heart-Interview with Jacqui DeLorenzo

Straight from My HeartOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m very pleased to welcome inspirational writer Jacqui DeLorenzo and author of  the recently released Straight From The Heart. 

First a few facts about our author: 

Jacqui DeLorenzo, MS, LMHC works part time at North Shore Community College assisting students in achieving their goals.  Her mission is to guide each student to a healthy self esteem and success in their journey  through life.  She volunteers for Hospice and appreciates life.  She received her Masters degree from Salem State University in psychological counseling.  She is a licensed mental health counselor and is a Reiki 2 practitioner.  She has written two books. “A Thread of Hope: A Woman’s Spiritual Journey of Faith from Trauma to Triumph and her second book “Straight from My Heart: Journeys of Hope, Love and Peace.

Thank you for joining us today at Scribbler’s Jacqui!

If you had to describe yourself using only three words what words would you choose?

Spiritual, caring and helpful

Tell us a bit about what your book, Straight From The Heart is about?

Straight from  my Heart presents a collection of true stories and poetry.  Each story seeks to open hearts, touch souls, and encourage all to believe in what is possible.  Straight from my Heart provides the opportunity to know and understand that life continues after this life on earth.

What inspired this story?

Feeling alone and empty at one point in my life I wanted to help others to discover their true selves by sharing personal stories of my journey and the journey of others.

Is there a genre you’d like to attempt to write?

Maybe a suspense.  I like reading suspense and always admired those who could write this way.

What is the hardest lesson you’ve learned along you journey as a writer?

I learned that I should not be so hard on myself if I have a writer’s block.  I would get frustrated and want my writing to move along faster than it seemed to go at times.

What was your biggest obstacle in getting from first draft to publication?

I am a perfectionist so I was my own worst critic.  I would write and write and then I wanted to add something I missed or eliminate a section that I felt was too long.  Also, finding a time that I could put aside where I wouldn’t get distracted.

Why self publish vs traditional publish?

I feel that I have the control.  Although it is an investment to self publish if it’s your passion than “go for it”.  If you wait for a publishing company to pick up on your booked much time takes places and rejections are often the results.  If you self publish you will get published.  I love my publishing company “iUniverse” they helped me through the entire process even if I just had a simple question.

What are you thoughts on the expense of self-publishing?

Honestly, I didn’t think twice about self publishing.  I wanted to write a book and I wanted it published.  I didn’t want to take the time to send it to all the publishers that “might” even take an interest in publishing my book.  If I  self published I knew it was a sure thing.  The self-publishing company helped me from beginning to end including marketing tools.   It was worth the cost.  There are many different publishing packages to choose from.  It depends on what you are looking for.  It depends on how much you are willing or able to afford.

What is your favorite book from both childhood and adulthood?

My favorite childhood book has to be Cinderella.  My favorite adult book has to be “The Notebook”.

What is the one piece of advise you’d give to an aspiring writer?

Never give up on your dream of being a writer.    Believe in yourself and don’t ever let anyone tell you can’t. ” If you think you can you can..If you think you can’t you can’t.”

What are you currently reading?

 “Born Knowing”  by John Holland

What is your favorite word?

Hope

What is your least Favorite word?

Hopeless

Do you have a favorite quote?

 “Life is 10% of what happens to you and 90%of how you respond to it.”

What is your favorite curse word?

Honestly, I don’t have one.  I hate them all.

To keep up with Jacqui:

jacquiannd.wix.com/jacquidelorenzo

To Purchase your own copy of Straight From The Heart:

http://www.amazon.com/Straight-My-Heart-Journeys-Peace/dp/1475939744/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1380797714&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=Straight+From+The+Heart+by+Jaqui+DeLorenzo

This entry was posted in Author Inerviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

