Hothouse – An Interview with Avery Bell

HothouseI’m pleased to welcome writer Avery Bell, author of the recently released fiery erotic romance short Hothouse.

First a few facts about our author:

Thank you for joining us at Scribbler’s today, Avery!

What would you most like your readers to know about you that they would not read in your official bio?

I don’t have much about my personal or business life in my bio because of the nature of my writing. I’m proud of what I write but there are those who don’t think erotica is good or honorable. What I most want my readers to know (all both of them!)is that I try my best to be true and honest in my stories. I believe that women and men are equal and I think I show that in my writing. I don’t objectify or victimize women in my stories. I don’t think that’s erotic or sexy at all.

Tell us a bit about Hothouse and what inspired this story?

I work in the insurance industry. One of my clients is a florist. She is perfectly suited for the job because she really understands the language of flowers. She always writes the best cards to go with the bouquets. I had a little crush on her for awhile and HOTHOUSE came from that. I thought it would be cool to write a story about a guy who basically falls in love with a woman he’s never met because of her writing.

Why the short story venue vs a full-length novel?

I’m just starting out as a published author. The short story format comes more natural to me. I think that as I learn more and mature more, I’ll be writing longer stories.

What three ingredients do you consider an absolute necessity to writing a hot sex scene?

Intelligence, attraction beyond the physical and a genuine connection between the main characters. I think that goes for real life to. You can have sex with a hot girl or guy, but unless you have a connection beyond the physical it’s just sex. Hot sex goes beyond the physical.

Do you think thin the male approach to writing a sex scene differs a great deal form approach a woman would take?

I don’t know. I’ll have to talk to some female erotica writers about that!

Do you develop a deep backstory for your characters before sitting down to write or do you just have a general idea of who they are?

My characters come with a deep backstory because so far, they’re based on people I know in my everyday life. I think it depends on the story and how I plan to tell it.

When brainstorming a story idea do you begin with character or plot?

I always begin with characters. Once I know the characters, I know what situation to put them in.

What are your strongest influences when it comes to character creation?

Real people are my strongest influences for characters. It’s just more convenient right now to start with a real person who looks a certain way and behaves in specific ways.

If you could cast anyone to play the roles of the main characters in this story, whom would you pick?

There are so many actors to choose from. The female lead would have to be someone earthy and natural. Like Selma Hayak or Lisa Bonet or Jennifer Lawrence. The male lead is your standard lantern-jawed alpha male. I could see Chris Hemsworth or any of the guys from Spartacus in that role!

Do you consider yourself to be a one genre writer or do you feel you will cross over to others?

I think I might try to crossover to mysteries or thrillers if I can build a foundation on erotica.

What is the writing process like for you? If you were to describe your process in one word, what would it be?

Labored.

Can we have an excerpt form Hothouse?

“Your cards are brilliant,” he blurted. “I love your writing. Your words are as beautiful as your floral arrangements. They…” He scrubbed a hand over the lower half of his face. “They move me.”

“I try to compose cards suitable for the clients.”

“That’s just it,” he said. “How do you always know what to write for me?”

“I did my research.”

“What?”

“I looked you up. I learned about who you are.”

Chad couldn’t tell if she was smiling or not. Merriment twinkled in her eyes, but her mouth barely tipped up at the corners.

“I’m just a guy who sends flowers.”

She crossed her arms over her chest, depriving him of her appetizing nipples. “Flowers speak a very unique, very precise language. I try to do the same thing when I write the cards that go with the flowers. If you’re hired to write a song for someone, wouldn’t you want to understand that person, so you’ll know what to say and how to say it?”

“I suppose.”

“You’re a defense attorney, a popular one, judging by the frequency with which you appear in the newspaper and on television, and very successful, considering your apparel.” She scanned him from toe to head. “I’d say your bespoke ensemble ran you about five grand, give or take a few hundred.”

“The suit alone cost five grand,” he scoffed.

“You speak well, and as a lawyer, you probably write well. Which means you’re also well read. ‘Thanks for a hot night’ would suffice for your orders, but it wouldn’t be you.”

Chad was unsure if he should be flattered or offended. He decided he was a little of both.

“You don’t know the first thing about who I am,” he started. “You don’t know me or—”

“I know that you fuck a different woman almost every week,” she continued, not the least bit intimidated by the rise in his volume. “I know that you represent clients you don’t always believe in because it’s your job to provide a good defense. Those two facts tell me that you are not a man who develops emotional attachments. You’re smart, attractive—perhaps too attractive for the good of mankind, since that gives you a built-in advantage over your adversaries—so your Monday morning ‘Thank you, Ma’am’ bouquets have to be accompanied by a certain eloquence. I provide that.”

“You think I’m attractive?” He latched onto the one point he’d most enjoyed.

“So do you.” Pinching back a grin, she stood. “If you’re not here to complain about an order, you must be here to place one personally. Have you met someone who finally managed to fuck her way into your heart?”

Hands indignantly on his hips, he said, “Do you speak to all your customers this way?”

“I don’t speak to customers at all. Gladys handles the front. I prefer to work back here.”

An understandable preference, he thought. The hothouse seemed almost magical with its myriad color and aroma. It was peaceful, in spite of the drip of a loosely coiled hose with a dripping sprayer, and the intermittent hiss of the timed misters mounted above the orchids. Part laboratory and part Garden of Eden, the hothouse was a separate world from the reality of customers and commerce in the cluttered shop.

“What’s your name?” he asked. He relaxed his arms at his sides.

“Guess and I’ll give you a prize.” She set about capping squat bottles of ink on her desk. She closed the lid of a small case of fountain pen nibs.

Ever the negotiator, he said, “What kind of prize?”

“Anything you want in the hothouse,” she said absently as she moved past him to a row of crimson hybrid tea roses. She picked up a pair of pruning shears from the edge of the box and began cropping thorns from the long stems.

What writer has most influenced your own work?

Jasinda Wilder and A.N. Roquelaure, which is Anne rice’s pen name.

Do you belong to a critique group?

No but I have a friend who’s an author. She helps me out a lot with finding resource material, self editing and marketing. She’s taught me so much.

Do you have a particular daily writing schedule you stick to?

I just write when I can. My day job keeps me on the road a lot.

Do you write in the same place ever day?

I write anywhere I can but I prefer to write at home.

What are you currently reading?

All Quiet on the Western Front.

What sound or noise do you love?

I love the sound of quiet!

What sound or noise do you hate?

People in the office constantly chatting drives me nuts.

What is your favorite curse word?

I like all of them but I use the s word a lot.

Dog of Cat person?

Dogs. I have two of them.

Do you have a favorite quote?

Not at the moment.

Go to drink when writing?

Beer.

What is the one piece of advise you would give to an aspiring writer?

I’d tell them to keep writing. Even if it’s just one sentence a day.

What is your next project?

I’m working on an erotic short that takes place in a convenience store. It’s different from my first two books. It has what I think is a clever twist.

To keep up with Avery go to:

http://www.amazon.com/Avery-Bell/e/B00E3CAKJ2/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1376049760&sr=8-1

https://www.facebook.com/AveryBellTales

To purchase your own copy of Hothouse or one of Avery’s other firstarting stories, go to:

http://www.amazon.com/Hothouse-ebook/dp/B00EAA23VK/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1377363326&sr=8-4&keywords=Avery+Bell

http://www.amazon.com/Crush-ebook/dp/B00E1R5ON6/ref=pd_sim_sbs_kstore_3

This entry was posted in Author Inerviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hothouse – An Interview with Avery Bell

  1. malanouette says:

    Great interview, Avery.

Leave a Reply

