Spank Me Mr. Darcy – Interview with Lissa Trevor

Spank Mr Mr. Darcy-Book CoverI’m pleased to welcome Lissa Trevor author of debut erotic romance; Spank Me Mr. Darcy.

Lissa Cover PhotoTo begin, a little background on our author:

Lissa Trevor has her stilettos firmly entrenched in the romance community.  Spank Me Mr. Darcy is her debut novel from Riverdale Avenue Books.  She is a frequent reader at Manhattan’s Between The Covers events, where her novellas Wild Oats and Timelash from Coliloquy’s Entwined volumes 1 & 2 have been very popular.  Lissa also created an erotic story template for Coliloquy’s ValEntwined promotion that allowed readers to download a personalized ebook starring themselves and their significant other. 

Thank you for joining us at Scribbler’s today Lissa!

What can you tell us about you that wouldn’t be found in your bio?

I have a diet coke addiction that borders on alarming and I am obsessed with unsolved mysteries and missing persons.

Tell us about your book?

Spank Me, Mr. Darcy is about Elizabeth’s Bennet exploring her sensual side and coming to terms with Mr. Darcy as a Master.

Spanking Mr. Darcy is an intriguing title. Which came first the title or the story?

The title and then playing around with the very first sentence, “There is a truth universally known . . .”

What inspired the idea for this story?

My agent, Louise Fury, and my publisher, Lori Perkins, and I brainstormed what a novel like this would be like.  We wanted it to be different from the other mash-ups that were out there.

What three ingredients do you consider an absolute necessity to writing a hot sex scene?

Chemistry, passion, and dialogue.

Are you one of those writers born with a pen in your hand and a story percolating in your mind, or did your interest develop later?

Not quite with a pen in my hand.  I wanted to be an artist, but I didn’t have any talent for drawing or painting.  My grandfather used to tell me “burglar” stories that were like the Keystone Cops.  He would make the stories up out of his head.  I wanted to do that.  My first book was a Star Trek fan fiction when I was about fourteen.

How deeply do you flesh out your characters before sitting down to write?

Not very.  I have to write down their last names otherwise I forget them.  I took a Cherry Adair workshop that I learned a lot from by seeing her process.  She picks out birthdays for her characters and everything.

When brainstorming a story idea, do you begin with character or plot?

Character. Usually, I get a dream with a character and a really cool situation and then I build the story around that.

Is there a secondary character in Spanking Mr. Darcy you see taking center stage in a future story?

I always thought that it was a shame Jane Austen didn’t give us a book about Georgiana Darcy.  I would have like to have seen her get a modicum of revenge against Mr. Wickham.  Although, him being married to Lydia does come close.

What has been the hardest part of the writing process for you?

Getting started.  Once I get my butt in the chair and start, it’s all good.  I am the Queen of the Procrastinators though.  Facebook games are evil.  I have no willpower against them.

Do you consider yourself to be a one genre writer or do you feel you will cross over to others?

I write in a few genres, but mostly romance.  I have a three book paranormal romance coming out from Entangled soon under Jamie K. Schmidt as well as a three book contemporary romance series coming out in 2014, that I can’t quite announce who with yet.

Can we have an excerpt from Spanking Mr. Darcy?

Sure!  This is a bit “R” rated, so be warned.

“Oh! my dear Mr. Bennet,” as she entered the bedroom, “we have had a most delightful evening, a most excellent ball. I wish you had been there.”

He put aside the erotic book and opened his robe to show his wife his thick erection.

“Were you well behaved?”

Mrs. Bennet blushed and shook her head.

“Tell me about the ball,” he said, roughly pulling on the seams of her dress until they ripped and her breast tumbled out of her corset.  He took a small knife from his dinner tray and sliced open the seams so the blue dress hung in tatters around her.

“Oh,” she panted as her husband pinched her nipple. “Well, Jane was so admired, nothing could be like it. Everybody said how well she looked; and Mr. Bingley thought her quite beautiful, and danced with her twice! Only think of that, my dear; he actually danced with her twice! and she was the only creature in the room that he asked a second time. First of all, he asked Miss Lucas. I was so vexed to see him stand up with her!”

“You know what vexes me?” Mr. Bennet said, brooding over his wife’s chest.  “The love bite I gave you is fading.”  He stroked the reddened flesh near her nipple.  She gasped when he covered it with his mouth and sucked fiercely.  Mrs. Bennet squirmed as her husband used a knife to cut off her corset stays and rip the rest of her blue dress from her.  He released her breast with a loud smacking sound.

“Who is your Master?”  Mr. Bennet said, gliding the flat edge of the knife down her quivering belly to cut the ties of her under garments.

What’s your next project?

I’m just finishing up an erotic “Love Actually” set in a dystopian future with shape shifters.

Do you have a particular writing schedule or process you stick to?

Yes, I try to write every day from 8:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.  I’ll extend it to midnight when I’m on deadlines.

Do you always write in the same place?

Yes, in a recliner with my laptop and my cat.

If you could become one fictional character for a week, who would it be?

Captain Jack Sparrow.

What was your biggest obstacle in getting from first draft to publication?

Myself.  LOL.  I have an adverb fetish.  I totally, inexplicably, unreasonably can’t bear to part with them.

Do you have a favorite author?

Several.  Like potato chips, you can’t pick just one.  Ilona Andrews, Lauren Dane, Anne Bishop, Jim Butcher, Lee Child, and Eloisa James are all must reads for me.

Favorite Quote?

Writing is like prostitution.  First you do it for the love of it.  Then you do it for a few friends and finally you do it for money. – Moliere.

Go to snack when writing?

Sunchips, but the cat bats them out of my hand.  Ice cream, but it’s hard to type.  M&M’s, but my son steals them.

What advice would you give to an aspiring writer?

Write.  Stop fiddling around on the Internet and write.  (This is also advice I need to follow myself most of the time.)

Thank you for joining us here at Scribbler’s today Lissa.

Spank Me, Mr. Darcy can be purchased at these fine locations:

My publisher is offering $3 off the book for a limited time, if you order from <a href=”http://riverdaleavebooks.com/books/36/spank-me-mr-darcy&#8221; title=”Riverdale Avenue Books”>Riverdale Avenue Books</a>.  Just put the code ROMANCE in when you check out.

<a href=”http://www.amazon.com/Spank-Me-Mr-Darcy-ebook/dp/B00CB2YHSG/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1365704025&amp;sr=1-1&amp;keywords=Spank+me+Mr.+darcy&#8221; title=”Amazon”>Amazon</a>

<a href=”http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/spank-me-mr-darcy-lissa-trevor/1115073713?ean=2940016604657&#8243; title=”Barnes &amp; Noble”>Barnes &amp; Noble</a>

This entry was posted in Author Inerviews. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spank Me Mr. Darcy – Interview with Lissa Trevor

  1. marcie says:

    Looks fabulous! Can’t wait to read this and your prior ones!

  2. Cool interview, and I love the excerpt! (Truly, madly, deeply, cheerfully and as many other adverbs as you can easily fit in here!)

  3. malanouette says:

    Sounds like a fun read, Lissa.

  4. jacqueline buchanan says:

    Great excerpt, thanks

  5. Pingback: Book Expo America! I’m on my way to BEA! | Lissa Trevor

Leave a Reply

