Interview with Gerri Brousseau, author of According To Legend

AccordingtoLegend_850 Full Cover

I am very excited to welcome back Gerri Brousseau, Author of the fascinating time travel tale, According To Legend!

For those who are meeting Gerri for the first time, here are a few fun facts:

Gerri was born in Connecticut where she currently lives with her two pugs; Mimina and Milo and her cats Louise (Weasley) and Harry. Gerri is a huge JK Rowling fan.  In addition to writing, Gerri loves to cook, sketch and paint and spend as much time as possible with her new granddaugher.  Pic for Book

Welcome Back Gerri, and thank you for joining us today!

What would you most like your readers to know about you?

This is my second release, but actually the first novel I ever wrote. I think I’m more nervous about this release than I was about the first one. Actually, I’m more nervous about this than I was about skydiving so that should tell you something!

Tell us a little about According To Legend.

According to Legend is a time-travel romance. The premise of the story is that legend has it when the spirit of the tribal princess is born again and she holds the enchanted stone in her hands, the lovers will be reunited … even through time.

What was different in the writing process for you with this second book?

I think the more novels you write the better writer you become. By the time my fourth or fifth novel gets published maybe I’ll have it down to a science.

How deeply do you flesh out your characters before beginning to write?

For me here is how it usually comes about. One of the characters (usually the hero) pops into my mind. I visualize him, name him and he starts to tell me his story. Pretty soon, he’s driving me crazy to get the story out. I think other writers will understand this. I hear voices … but it’s a good thing.

When brainstorming story ideas do you begin with character or plot

As I said above, it’s usually the character, but not always. In my third novel “To Kill a Monarch” (releasing over the summer) it was the plot. The characters came later.

What writer had most influenced your own writing style?

I read so many novels over the course of my life it would be difficult to say, but there are two wonderful ladies who I can credit to making me first, want to read; and second, want to write. The first novel I ever read was “The Flame and the Flower” by the late Kathleen Woodiwiss and I was hooked on the romance genre. She made me love to read. The second author who inspired me to become an author is J.K. Rowling through her Harry Potter Series and her life struggles.

How do you balance the need for self promotion vs your writing time?

Balance? What’s that? Just joking. Writing, publication and promotion are phases of the novel. I write it, submit it to my publisher. While I’m waiting for edits, I begin a new work. Edits come back from the publisher and I put the new work aside and do the edits. Release is upon me and I start to do promotion, still with the new work in progress on the back burner. Once the initial promotion is rolling, I go back to my writing. I find I’m the only one who is impatient with myself. I guess if I were giving advice to your readers I would tell them to chill and cut themselves some slack.

Do you read the genre of what you are currently writing?

Yes, but I also read contemporary romance, mystery, and intrigue. I find that the more writers I know who write in different genres, the more different genres I read.

Where do you get your story ideas?

God only knows. According to Legend came to me in a vivid dream. A Pirate’s Ransom was (blush) a fantasy. I find I ask myself “what if” a lot and sometimes it just clicks and the seed of a story idea is planted. That’s how To Kill a Monarch happened.

Your first book fell into the historical genre, with Legends you crossed over to Time Travel/fantasy, is there a genre you would be hesitant to take on?

Yes. Steampunk. Although I’m intrigued with it when I tried to write something I sat there staring at a blank computer screen and my mind was just as blank.

How did you connect with your agent/editor?

I was at a crossroads and thinking of giving up writing. I got really mad at myself and just started to madly send out query letters. At that time I was submitting A Pirate’s Ransom and According to Legend. You can imagine my great surprise and total delight when I received an email from my publisher saying they wanted both!

Can we have an excerpt from According to Legend?

You bet.

I touched his face, then he drew me into his arms, holding me gently while he planted soft kisses in my hair. His lips traced a line of hot kisses along my jaw line. He held my face between his hands as he lowered his lips to mine. I knew I was dreaming. I knew I was sitting in front of the cold, dark fireplace in my living room. I knew I was completely dressed. Yet, this felt so real! Could I be in two places at once?

Do you have a particular daily writing schedule you stick to?

That depends on what phase of writing I happen to be in. Right now I’m in the initial promotion phase, so there is very little writing going on. I’m also in the initial edit phase of To Kill a Monarch, so the new work is going to the back burner. When I’m in writing mode, I write every day. I work full time so most of my writing is done in the evenings, after dinner and on the weekends.

Do you always write in the same place?

Usually I’m sitting in my recliner with the pugs, but not always. I find that sometimes moving to a new location helps my though process. In spring and autumn I enjoy sitting out on my deck. I have also been known to bring the laptop to the beach. I wrote According to Legend on the train when I was traveling to and from work.

If you could become one fictional character for a week, who would it be?

Elizabeth Bennett just so I could hear Mister Darcy say “I love you, I love you, I love you.” (~Le sigh~)

When you do an interview like this what is the one writing process questions you hope not be asked?

This one! (laughing) I don’t have a dread question. I try to answer any and all questions honestly.

Do you have a favorite book?

No, not really.

Favorite Quote?

“Never, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, ever, give up. Never give up. Never give up. Never give up.” Winston Churchill.

If I had not lived by this, I would never have gotten published.

What’s up next for you Gerri?

My next novel tentatively set to release in July, 2013 is To Kill a Monarch.

Can you share bit about this story with us Scribbler’s?

Whispers in dark allies say Napoleon’s best assassin, The Falcon, has been sent to London to kill the Monarch. The problem – The Falcon’s identity is known only to the French Emperor. Sir Walter Tinsdale’s new partner, Philip Hamilton, arrives to discover their mission is to find the elusive bird of prey before he strikes. But their nemesis is like a phantom and always one step ahead of them. Enter the lovely Miss Charlotte Winston, the object of Sir Tinsdale’s affections, as well as those of Philip Hamilton. Unlikely alliances, deception, murder, and suicide will keep you turning the pages until the identity of The Falcon is finally revealed. With all the seduction and action of a James Bond movie, To Kill a Monarch is 007 in 1811.

Thank you Gerri for joining us today at Scribbler’s.

To keep up with Gerri:

http://www.gerribrousseau.com/

To Purchase According To Legend:

dAQHPMMv4AQFhQPXQmvrkE2Xhsu4wNKqYezEH4d258Otwqg/www.amazon.com/According-to-Legend-ebook/dp/B00BP7HL1S/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1362581559&sr=8-3&keywords=According+to+Legend

This entry was posted in Author Inerviews. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Interview with Gerri Brousseau, author of According To Legend

  1. Thank you so much for inviting me here today to share with your readers. I would love to have them get to know me better and will be happy to answer their questions.

  2. malanouette says:

    Great interview, Gerri. I’m so looking forward to reading According to Legend.

  3. Great interview, Gerri! I can’t wait to read your new book!! 😀 The cover is lovely.

Leave a Reply

