Dangerous Curves Ahead! – Interview with Sugar Jamison

Jamie Pope PhotoScirbbler’s is pleased to welcome author Jamie Pope author of soon to be released Dangerous Curves Ahead.

Welcome  to Scribbler’s Sugar!

Why don’t you being by telling us a little about yourself. 

Well, I like long walks on the beach and eating Tapas. Blah… This question is always the hardest for me to answer. It makes me feel so boring. I like shoes and shopping and cupcakes. I’m super girly because I grew up in a house with four very MACHO brothers and a father that was police officer. And everybody thinks my mother is my sister, which I find highly annoying especially since we are twenty-seven years apart in age.

Can you share with us a bit about what your debut novel Dangerous Curves Ahead is about?

It’s funny. It’s a little snarky. It’s different from a lot of other romance novels because my heroine is plus sized and proud of her body.  When It Comes To Love; Ellis Garrett is dumping her critical boyfriend, opening a plus-size clothing store, and starting a blog—all to spread the word that fashion shouldn’t require a size-two body, and happiness should allow for the occasional cupcake. Or two. But is indulging fantasies about her sister’s long-ago ex, the still-hunky Michael Edwards, biting off more than she can chew? One Size Does Not Fit All; Mike must be losing his detective’s touch. He doesn’t recognize Ellis when he bumps into her at Size Me Up, and he certainly doesn’t remember his ex-girlfriend’s outspoken sister being so irresistible. Her curves are indeed dangerous—and so is her wit. Could it be that Ellis is his Perfect Fit? One thing’s for sure: Mike will make it his sworn duty to find out…

What has your journey from aspiring writer to published has been like?

In hindsight it happened kind of quickly but while I was living it it seemed like it was the torturous. Two and a half years ago I decided I wanted to be a published author. So I joined CTRWA, a group that has changed the course of my life. I’ve gained so many friends and so much support for them I know I wouldn’t have gotten THE CALL without them. But honestly my publication story is pretty simple. I wrote three practice novels to learn the craft of writing. My fourth book I queried aggressively for about five months of 2012. I got two offers from agents. I went with Emmanuelle Morgen who I adore. She submitted to the big 6 Harlequin and Kensington. I got three offers and ended up going with St. Martin’s Press in June of 2012. I was at work when the offers came in. I screamed like a crazy person. Now I have a three book deal and half the time I still can’t believe it’s happening to me.

What has been the hardest part of the writing process for you?

Actually, for me the writing is the easy part, because I can lose myself in to a world of my creation. Reality is the hard part. The waiting for it to be released. The wondering if people will really like it, if anybody will buy it. I’m sure all writers go through this with their first books but it sometimes keeps me up at night.

When formulating a story idea, do you begin with character or plot?

Neither. I see a scene in my head and write it down, characters just kind of insert themselves in where they fit.

Are you an outliner or panster?

I’m somewhere in between, more on the panster. I’ll jot notes down in a notebook so I don’t forget scenes I’ve dreamt up during the night. But before I begin a book in earnest I know the ending and all the turning points so my writing doesn’t wander off into aimless boringness.

What is your daily writing schedule like?

I write a 1,000-1,200 words a day. No excuse. On the weekends I shoot for 2,500 words. I edit as I go and usually can crank out a book every four months.

How about a small excerpt from Dangerous Curves?

 Ellis thought about her run in with Mike all the way back to her shop. Boom. She’d felt Boom. Damn it. It shook her. Why out of all the single men in the world did she have to feel it with Mike Edwards? He was the man who had once ignored her, who had forgotten her, who had slept with her sister. And yet when she saw him her hormones went crazier than a teenage boy’s watching a dirty movie. It must be the lack of sex making her crazy. It had been six months since she broke up with Jack. Six months since she had any type of physical interaction with a man. Six very long dry months.

Or it could be that the crush she once had on him never completely melted away because when Mike’s big hand came out to grab her wrist her mouth went dry. It took her back four years. To the first time he set his hand on her skin. To that time in life when she still believed in love and loyalty and thought butterflies farted rainbows.   

She shook her head.

It probably wasn’t Boom. Maybe it was just a severe case of horniness. Or indigestion. Either way she was screwed.

Do you have any tried and tested cures for writer’s block?

Yes! Reading. I usually go for one of my favorite authors, because they inspire me. It was Susan Elizabeth Phillips who made me want to write romance.

Who is your favorite author?

I CAN’T pick one. Susan Elizabeth Phillips for contemporary. I love historicals. Mary Balogh,  Jennifer Ashley, Elizabeth Hoyt and Sherry Thomas can thank me for buying every single one of their books. I’m in a Lori Foster phase at the moment.

If you could sit down to dinner with any of your favorite fictional character/s who would it be?

Minerva Dobbs from Jennifer Crusie’s BET ME. I’m not sure why. I just think we would be friends.

Same question as above, but this time for favorite author dead or alive?

Edgar Allen Poe. It might be an odd dinner, but I would just want to know what was going on in his head.

What would be the one piece of advice you’d give to an aspiring writer?

Don’t write the same book for eight years. It’s okay to move on. Your first attempt at a book probably shouldn’t sell. It takes time to become a good writer. Practicing your craft is not a bad thing.

What do you do to relax when not writing?

Read, shop with my mother, play on Facebook.

To preorder a copy of Dangerous Curves:

http://www.amazon.com/Dangerous-Curves-Ahead-Perfect-Novel/dp/1250032970/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1358467005&sr=8-1&keywords=sugar+jamison

If you want to keep up with the antic of Sugar Jamison you can find her at these places:

http://www.facebook.com/sugarjamisonbooks

http://www.sugarjamison.com

Twitter @sugarjamison

 

This entry was posted in Author Inerviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dangerous Curves Ahead! – Interview with Sugar Jamison

  1. malanouette says:

    You love shoes, and some great ones. LOL. Good luck with your book.

  2. Anna James says:

    Great interview, Jamie or should I call you Sugar?

Leave a Reply

